Aberrant: Mutant High - Trying to make a friend

Ouchfest

Frank is sitting alone at lunch, by the wall, again. He's got his hat and sunglasses on indoors, as usual. Not that anyone can see his eyes, but the movement of his head shows that he might be trying to watch everyone else in the cafeteria at the same time. He sits and eats and thinks to himself:

I am an experienced lurker. I have a second degree black belt in lurking. Get the lay of the land. Don't make waves. Don't stand out. Don't be a target. I hope this place might be different enough from what I'm used to to let me be a little different too. Baby steps.

We're all weird here, right? We're all targets? We've got that in common. We're on the same side. There have still been some fights, though. There are still the obvious cool kids, the jocks, the beautiful people, the elite. The kinds of people who treat the rest of us like trash. That Alex kid is like a damn anti-Frank. There's also Josh.

Josh is probably the only guy here less built than me, but he's got some balls. He tried to tell those punks to stop fighting. He seems really smart, always in the lab.

Frank sees Josh with his own lunch. Frank finishes up, and silently clears the table and disposes of his trash. Hunched over, seeming even shorter, he makes his way over to Josh.

"Hey, man. How's it going? I'm Frank. Do you play any games?"