Bombshell Posted October 9, 2011 Share Posted October 9, 2011 Okay, there was some talk going on in Chat, and I think there are some things that need to clarified. Here goes. 1 - Extras that don't raise the level. Some people are confused by this. Some thing you can apply a free extra when you hit Q6, for others, it seems if you raise the level of the power higher, you can apply as many extras as it takes to raise it due to a high Quantum score. There's an awful lot of extras flying around this game - I just want to make sure everyone is buying them the same way. From what I understand, adding an extra that doesn't raise the power a level costs an amount of XP equal to buying a dot of the power at the current level (not number of dots in the power). IE, if you want to add an extra to a level one power, it costs 3 XP, for a level two power, it costs 5 XP - those are based on the standard costs. Effectively, you pay an amount of XP equal to the XP cost multiplier for the power (so 2 xp for a level one power that's 'in theme,' etc.) When you add an extra that raises it to the next level, the cost is different. You pay the difference in the costs between the power being the old level and the new level. Thus, if it takes you 2 extras to raise a level two power to level 3, and you only have one dot in the power, it costs 3xp (for standard costs). That's only for the second extra. you still had to pay 5xp for the first one. You DON'T get two extras for the cost of raising the power to the next level. And an issue I have, and never found an answer for. When applying total extras, do you look at the original level of a power, or the current one? I mean, if you have Q6, and you apply 2 extras to a level one power, raising it to level two, is the power considered a new level two power for the purposes of adding more extras, meaning you can add up to two more extras before raising it to level three? I'd say no, but that's just me, though Mastery sort of mucks that up some, since it always raises the level of the power. That's the way I understand it. If you are doing it differently Krul, please clarify. 2- Mastery I see that have made set costs for adding mastery, and that's fine (if making Mastery rather cheaply available, especially with the prevalence of RQC on everything). However, there are some other restrictions on Mastery that you have seem to have overlooked or changed. I would just like to know if it was intentional or not. According the Player's Guide, p. 119, you have to buy Mastery 1 before Mastery 2, which you have to buy before Mastery 3, and remember, regardless of Quantum rating, each level of Mastery raises the power by one level. Thus, it seems intuitively backwards to me that level 4 and level 5 powers can only get the Mastery 2 & 3 and Mastery 3 extras, respectively. Secondly, according to p. 119, only levels 1-3 powers can have Mastery applied. This makes a good deal of sense, since Mastery makes powers work on a national, continental, and world-wide level and level four-six powers already do that, have the ranges and areas and such built in, doubling or more the number of successes is hardly necessary. Applying Mastery to them is just plain overkill, in my estimation, 3 - The Explosive Force Extra Dude, I know Lightspeed is a level 4 power, but don't you think the damage is a little extreme? At the very minimum (Quantum 7, Power Rating 1), the damage is 80 aggravated damage, which is also over an Explosive Area and Burning! And that's on a movement power; for the cost of an extra (which doesn't even raise the level, since you must have at least Q7), the level 4 power gets a separate Level 5 power at the same rank (Explosive Force is roughly equivalent to Q-Bolt with the Area, Aggravate, Burning, Explosive, Mastery 1, and Mastery 2 extras, and that's assuming Q8). Sure, the inclusion of needing Momentum Transfer and the effect causing damage is neat and flavourful, sort of the equivalent of the sonic booms from Hypermovement, but keep in line with the fact the Lightspeed is a movement power, not Mega-Bolt. With the exception of Quantum Inferno, I don't think any level 4-6 power even does damage (directly). And just as an additional bonus, someone with this power can inflict damage when completely Density Decreased, when, according to the rules, they can't affect the tangible world at all. Sure, I know this is a high powered game where rolls and such are almost not even necessary, and others have vicious powers where they say they'd only use them in the direst emergencies or situations, but still... this is a bit much. So, here are my suggestions to bring it more in line. 1- Damage should be based of just the Power Rating - this makes it analogous to Sonic Boom from Hypermovement, the other movement power that does damage based on the number of dots you have in the power. 2- Using this extra causes you to immediately drop out of Lightspeed (since you transferred the momentum), thus costing you double QP for the power. 3- Give it either Area or Explosive, not both, even if you increase the increment on Explosive, otherwise, just one dot does aggravated damage out to a 3.2 km radius (at current damage level) - I'd suggest Explosive myself. Pretty extreme for a side effect of a movement power. If someone really wants to be able to create a thermonuclear explosion, they should feel free to buy Q-Bolt with Aggravated, Burning, Explosive, and possibly Reflective, along with Mastery 1 and 2. This is Aberrant, where extras expand on the scope or capabilities of a power, not give it Alternate Effects (for the vast majority and the ones that do, the effects aren't this extreme or different from the main power). This is just my two, okay, three, cents (I'm well aware I'm rather conservative when regards to rules). Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.