Aberrant RPG - Help a newbie with a few house rules

I'm a newbie to old school aberrant and I want to set up my game. The metaplot doesn't do much for me but I'be been inspired by the current rule of the Ultimates and Ultimate X-Men and I want to make my own 'verse based loosely on that world.

I want to create a more mutant centered world and for that I was thinking about doing the following. Powers and Quantum (x-factor) costs normal amounts but you can decrease the cost by buying aberrations. Lesser abs decrease the cost by one, medium by 2, and greater by three so that a level three power bought with a greater aberration costs 2 points per dot. That help to give the impression that mutants are hated and feared. the truly human looking mutants would be among the least powerful (or else riddled with mental derangments...). Is this a balanced house rule? Should I start mutants out with fewer points because they can already buy powers to a decent level (say 20 points)? What do you think.

Secondly, my game is going to be a little more combat heavy than most normal games probably (those D&D roots) and I am worried that the standard aberrant combat rules are going to lead to a far too high a lethality level. what can I do to make the games more cinematic without crippling the characters not loaded down with armor and mega-sta.

Any advice for my game would be much appreciated.