Aberrant RPG - Aberrant Modifications For Dummies

Jesse Custer

I've posted this, before, in other forums. Unfortunately, the WW forums are really weak (in features/archiving/traffic) and I figured they'd find more use here.

I have been tweaking a campaign, designed for complete newbies, using "level F2". Quite interesting the kind of preperation you have to do when nobody on Earth can physically keep a group from doing what it likes.

Well, enjoy my list of setting mods. I know that they'll, at least, impress those who felt short-changed and upstaged by Aberrant's metaplot and NPCs.

Aberrant Setting Levels

Level A: Includes everything in the default Aberrant setting. A world where, even though the PCs are on their way to godhood, there are still forces which are as tidal waves to mortals (Mal, Pax, et al.).

Level B1: The biggies don't exist, yet. Mal and Pax are either non-existent or are severely underpowered (they can't go through a mountain and dust themselves off, e.g.).

Level B2: Utopia doesn't exist. The PCs can create their own organization to help the world (or hurt it) without being hopelessly outmatched by any other group.

Level C1 and C2: Include the stipulations of either level B1 or B2 and, in addition, the Directive doesn't exist.

Level D: (Include all of the above stipulations.) No novas in the world are constructed with greater than 30 nova points (the PCs are now the cream of the crop). Remember, these aren't really limits to the GM - if his story needs a 50 point nova he shouldn't shy away from it - story is king.

Level E1: Most novas can't progress past their starting power (or at a greatly increased cost*). PCs, of course, are excluded from this limitation. *E.g. Maybe the greater cost isn't just more XPs but for every power increase (past their eruption levels), they must take a dot of permanent taint.

Level E2: PCs start at 30 nova points and every other nova starts at 15.

Level F1: Both level E1 and E2.