Aberrant RPG - Science and Aberrant

Warren Verona

Okay, something bothers me. Know what it is? It's the fact that Abberant is broken scientifically and yet people still insist on arguing science with it.

I've done extensive research into this little book ever since I started playing the game in an attempt to learn more about subjects that, prior to playing it, I knew nothing about.

By the rules in the book, do you realize what is possible and what is not?

By the math, do you realize that with Gravity Manipulation a Nova could destroy the Earth? It doesn't take mastery, or anything fancy... just Q5, a little patience and a good roll.

When it comes to elements, do the rules mean actual elements or can energies be included in there too?

What about Matter Creation... can you create an apple? No. It's a living thing, until it is completely rotted out according to the science community.

What are lines between physical and energy? Kinetic energy is what makes an impact happen... so is the Q-Bolt: Sewer Cap physical (you got hit with it) or Energy (with out the kinetics, the cap never would have moved).

My point is this. For the love of all that is holy, please understand, that you cannot argue science and Aberrant, it is not possible, the people who wrote the book included powers that are not even governed by quantum related theories for crying out loud!

All that you can apply is common sense, judgment, and a "What the hell, why not." approach.

For shits and giggles I walked a few characters down to the science block and chopped them up.

Revenant: None of Revenant's abilities are possible according to scientific research and theories. mad

Flicker: By rapidly bending light and shifting it in and out from various spectrums simultaneously someone can 'blink', or even become invisible and still remain absent to other forms of detection (thermo, UV, etc.). Congrats, you're legal Flicker! laugh