[Fiction] Wreckin' Crew

Warren Verona

Time flew idly by upon the tallest spire of Chicago. The Revenant had placed a call out for heroes, brave novas who would accompany him into the stars and investigate the orbital weapon that had bombarded South Dakota a day or so prior.

The Crusader answered his call. Only… the… Crusader.

Which in and of its self was saying quite a bit. If there was one thing that was difficult to earn with Revenant it was respect, and a guy like The Crusader being so quick to pipe up was certainly a shock for the grim nova.

Patiently he waited, and talked on his phone constantly pacing back and forth. “Sweetie, c’mon! Someone has to take a look at the thing. I’m a cop now, it’s my job.” He rolled his eyes as the plum beauty on the other end of the line chewed him a new one. “I never said I was going to destroy… okay, so I did say I was going to destroy it, but I have an image to uphold.”

He looked off into the distance and could see The Crusader approaching from his tour of the city. His clueless expression and chiseled features spoke of a godling who could see it all, tell it like it was and yet know nothing of any of it. “I gotta go baby.” He turned away from the approaching Crusader, in muffle his words. “I-I love you too sweetie. I gotta go.” He was about to close his cell phone and sighed heavily. “Yes, I’ll pick up cat food. I. Have. To. Go. Big time super hero stuff. I’ll be home later.”

His phone clicked shut and tried his best to slip back into his mean spirited machismo. He’d never admit it, but talking with his girlfriend always made his unlife seem all the more surreal.

“Took you long enough. You stop to quote scripture to a pimp?”