Aberrant: In the Beginning - A Night in Korea[Mature](Complete)

Katalyst

I felt so lucky and excited. Being stationed in one of the biggest cities in the orient was amazing to me. Seoul, South Korea was going to be my home for the next year. It was hard to believe just four months ago I graduated from High School and now here I was a Private in the United States Army. This sure was different then back home in Norfolk, Virginia.

It was late October and I just got assigned to 2nd Infantry Division which was up on the DMZ. It was going to be several days before I would actually make my way to my unit so some of the guys that were stationed there in Yongsan were taking out some of the new guys to get initiated to Korea by means of Soju. (Soju, I learned later is Korean liquor) This made me curious, and I was not exactly sure how to take this idea. Though they all seemed pretty cool. I could hardly wait to get to the clubs. This area was known as the “Ville” and was located at the end of Itaewon.

"Come on Jay, would you hurry your ass up in that shower," Bob said pounding impatiently on the door. "I’ll be done in a minute," I hollered back at him. "Well hurry up – I want to show you a few places before we meet up with the rest of the guys". "OK, OK, I’m done," I exclaimed as I turned off the shower and reached for a towel to dry off with. "Yeah, hurry up a cab is suppose to be here in 20 minutes." "Well I’m glad were not walking, it looks like it could rain any minute," stating as I looked out the window at the sky. "Well soon monsoon season will be here, and it’s seems to be always raining" Bob said with an obvious distaste for this weather. I was just finishing ironing a white Polo short when I heard a car honking outside. "Come on there’s our ride," Jason said peering out the window at a waiting AAFES taxi.

"Will you hurry your ass up," Bob bellowed impatiently.