Aberrant: Prometheans Unbound - Fiction: King Cobra

phoenix

Christmas Eve, New York City:

A muffled gasp punctuated the silence outside, in the chilly darkness surrounding the Lincoln Magnet School. Light and music sprayed out from the black box theatre just a few hundred feet away, but two teenagers were ignoring it, splayed out against an external heating duct, which warmed them. A recognizable article of pink female lingerie fell lightly onto the exposed grass.

"You’re so beautiful," murmured an immature male voice. His partner half-hummed, half-moaned in response.

Pheremones, sweat and the scent of blood filled the cold air. The breeding baselines smelled more delicious than the finest pork roast, filet mignon, and Blue Ring’s insectile mandibles salivated a thick, acidic fluid at the scent. Its segmented, chitinous body and stick legs made no noise at all in the soft snow. It crept closer.

"Jake.. please be gentle, okay? I’ve never done this before."

Jake pulled her close.

Suddenly, a voice rang out from the shadows, causing both teenagers to jump, startled. "Hey! Jake! And.. is that Becky? Both of you get inside now!"

"Mr. McCall!" The amorous pair instantly froze.

John McCall jerked his head backwards, in the direction of the decorated theatre. "Get back to the Carnival Ball – both of you, now. I’ll decide what to do about this later."

Both students stayed frozen. Wondering if the cold weather had slowed their wits, John clapped his hands. The loud report shocked them to their feet. The boy hurried past John to get into the theatre and, gathering up her fallen bra, the girl followed him, obviously scared.