Aberrant RPG - Powers for Free?

archer

I wanted to start a topic about something I've disliked about the Aberrant system for a long time, but wasn't really clear to me until I started playing Mutants and Masterminds: lack of Power Stunts.

In the comics, you'll see a ton of one-off or rare effects that different characters pull out of their hats when dramatically appropriate. These effects are almost always based on theme, though sometimes by a thin thread.

Because right now I'm playing a speedster character, I had to ask BN about some of the different effects I've seen other speedsters use, and whether they were possible for Brandt to duplicate.

First one: Running real fast in a circle to create a whirlwind or vortex.

Second: Avoiding gravity's pull and running up or along vertical surfaces.

Third: Running across water.

Fourth: Vibrating fast enough to disperse personal molecules, allowing passage through solid objects.

Fifth: Touching an object and through intense vibration which matches the harmonics of the object, cause it to shatter or disintegrate.

Sixth: Moving just one limb at superspeed, allowing for a Mach X(x=specific value) punch or kick.

Seventh: Same as above, but instead using that superspeed momentum to throw on object at Mach X.

These are just the few that came to mind as I was typing, but I'm sure there are more I'm forgetting.

Now, the easy way to nix these Power Stunts is to point out that at least half of the effects are easily obtained by buying them as actual Powers. The superspeed punch as Claws, running up walls as Wall-Crawling, speed-created tornado as EA or EM techniques, etc.

But, then you run into more devious power uses that can either duplicate these effects or come realllllly close.