Aberrant RPG - How to handle gadgets in Aberrant

nerdvana

Iron Man and his ilk are staples of the super-heroic theme In my opinion, but Aberrant does not support them.  :(

So my question is this: How would you go about building Iron Man (or Spider-man's webshooters even) without making them quantum related (i.e. no Nova who has 2 forms for IM and no Quantum devices for webshooters)?

I'm thinking of heroes who've created (illegal due to PU) high tech devices to help them hero... sure, straight Novas look down on them, but the populace might just love to see a baseline be able to go toe-to-toe with a Nova (a.la. Iron Man) and having a "power" that can't be stolen by another Nova would be a pretty good advantage in a fight (a.la. Imoblizing with webshooters).

I'm just curious how other people have done this... Also, I'm sorry if this is an old, over done topic, I'm a newbie here after all...  ::halo

OH, just so everyone knows, I only own the Aberrant book... I'll be borrowing PU, Tera and the APG from a friend again soon, but I don't even have them right now (I know that a way of doing gadgets is in the APG, but those require you to be a Nova... no good for the baseline armored dude idea).

Thanks in advance!

Nerdvana

:D  :D  :D

I would probably use quantum powers to represent the gadget's powers, because that's the easiest way to balance it. Each dot of a Gadget background could give you 3 nova points to spend on stuff for your machine. The gadget would have Quantum equal to its level and a quantum pool of 10 + level.

Naturally you can't build Iron Man's armor with these rules so you would have to create the armor piece by piece. A helmet with Mega-perception and some psychic shield and life-support, bracers with some sort of quantum bolt, legguards with flight, etc...

::bigsmile ::bigsmile ::bigsmile ::bigsmile ::bigsmile ::bigsmile

Fred, that is excellent!