Trinity RPG - Earthquakes

Seven

I just read America Offline and didn't recall seeing any information on earthquakes. I would have thought an incident would have occurred on the West Coast of Nordaamerica that warranted mention in the book.

I was wondering if I missed something or not. Does anyone ever remember reading about the West Coast getting hit by the big one in any of the Trinity books? If not, what do you think the ramifications of a large earthquake on the West North American coast would be?

• 2 weeks later...

i live in california (very near the san andreas fault), and the story about part of the state falling off into the ocean is total b.s. (i studied siesmology for a while) if part of the coast is missing, it wouldn't have come from a quake...  

as far as the reprecussions of a big quake hitting well... no one ehre really believes in the "big one" so very few people have food or water or first aid kits stored... most people would be screwed making rescue missions and emergency supplies vital... the costs for food and water alone would likely be in the millions... other necessities like shelter, gas, clothing i'm not even going to touch...

most buildings are up to earth quake code, but like so many people have said you can't anticapate every frequency of quake, besides there are still a lot of older buildings, most houses are only coded up to the year they were built and have never been renovated making the likeliness of mass homelessness increase...

the "big one" would have to be a very big quake indeed to cause the type of destruction most people think of when it's brought up... it would most likely be a 9.6 through 9.8 quake (those would be record breakers) with a duration of two minutes or so with at least three after shocks of up to 7.5