Aberrant RPG - Problems with Mastery

Horizon

My apologies for the long post.

Over the years I've noticed a number of problems with Mastery in application, and I was wondering if anyone else had similar experiences or solutions. First though, a little background to explain myself.

My current group and I have been playing Aberrant for about five years now. In that time frame we have played a great many games, many of them going into Quantum 6+ territory. I personally have played multiple Quantum 6+ novas, ran stories with many of them, and rolled a great many combats. I've played a nova up to Quantum 10. Everyone had loads of fun with that game and everyone, ST included, was sorry to see them go. Our games tend to focus a lot on the ramifications of power. It's not about whether you can blow up a city, it's about whether you are willing to or not.

Also, we keep a running binder of novas. Our group generally awards experience for making novas for the ST to use, and we like to think that every time we introduce another one, we have added RP value to all our future games by creating one more nova in our little universe. I've made literally hundreds of novas at everything from mean-streets to hand-cramping Terats of doom in the year 2030.

My experience with Mastery has been that introducing the multiplier takes the game math out back and shoots it in the face. The issue I'll address in this post is soak vs. damage.

Soak vs. Damage: Before Quantum 6, soak adding together mitigates the relatively larger values on damage powers. Also, taking actions like dodging and power-blocking means novas of the same power level can throw down without it being a slaughter.