Jump to content

KOTNR - House Rules & Clarifications

Recommended Posts

Clarifications on the Wild Die


Wild die when rolling dice in Discord

The first die result of your roll will be treated as the Wild die.

For example: if you roll 4D6 and get Details:[4d6 (1 3 4 6)], then you got a 1 on the Wild die (not a 6).


Rolling a 1 on the Wild die 

To clarify, rolling a 1 on the Wild Die is not an automatic failure or botch. If the Wild Die comes up as a 1, tell the me and I will do one of three things:

1) Just add the 1 on the Wild Die to the total normally with no effect.

2) Subtract the 1 on the Wild Die and your other highest die from the total

3) Add the 1 on the Wild Die to the total normally, but award a "complication" - something unusual (and often, but not always bad) has happened that livens things up for your character.

Complication example:
In a space battle you shoot a quad-laser cannon at a TIE fighter. You roll and get a 1 on the Wild Die and are awarded a complication.

- If your total roll was still not enough to hit the TIE fighter, then you miss, and due to the complication, your roll might be applied to a friendly ship to see if you it the friendly instead, or the turret might malfunction.

- If your total roll is enough to hit the TIE fighter, then you successfully hit it (Yay!), but due to the complication the TIE fighter might now on a collision course with your ship or maybe the TIE fighter spun and hit a friendly ship, damaging it and/or forcing them to make a piloting check..

Complications can apply to any roll, not just combat, from mis-remembering information, to not realizing you just hit on the alien you are trying to talk to in their native language.

If dropping the 1 on the Wilde die and your highest die from your total would result in failure then I might even offer you the choice of taking the failure or succeeding with a complication.

Sometimes a complication is bad, sometimes they just make things more difficult or interesting, and sometimes they are just funny.


Rolling a 6 on the Wild die 

If you roll a 6 on the Wild Die, then it 'explodes', meaning you add it to your total like normal and then get to re-roll that 1 die, adding the result to the total. As long as you keep getting a 6 on the re-roll, you keep adding it and re-rolling.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Create New...