Collaborative Storytelling

platonicideal

Collaborative Storytelling

I listen to my son and a friend tell interactive stories for hours. No dice, whatever rules they make up on-the-fly are implemented immediately and they never argue about fairness or direction. I am not sure if it is exactly a role-playing game, not because of the lack of dice or arguing, but because there appear to be no rules except after the fact. Maybe it is a role-playing game at its most pure, story without pause. “And then you” is a frequent phase, which makes me feel it lacks control on the character's part, but what character ever controls his or her destiny completely?

[end_news_blurb]

Role-playing and Rules

I am used to rules. But I started playing Dungeons and Dragons a long time ago, and the rules seem to have multiplied exponentially since I cracked open the blue boxed set. Part of me likes having a complex and extensive rule set, if only to know the bounds to push, the gray areas to wade through on the way to greatness. Part of me, the autistic part, likes reading all the rules just for the sake of cataloging and memorizing them. That is not, however, role-playing. The story may be the same no matter how many rules there are, but I want to tell a story, or participate in one, ultimately, not be bogged down by rules.

Role-Playing Games by Post